Millennium Development Goals

The Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) are eight goals to be achieved by 2015 that respond to the world’s main development challenges. They form a blueprint agreed to by all the world’s countries and all the world’s leading development institutions to address issues such as poverty, hunger, and education for the world’s poorest. The MDGs are drawn from the actions and targets contained in the Millennium Declaration that was adopted by 189 nations and signed by 147 heads of state and governments during the UN Millennium Summit in September 2000.

The eight goals are:

  • Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
  • Achieve universal primary education
  • Promote gender equality and empower women
  • Reduce child mortality
  • Improve maternal health
  • Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
  • Ensure environmental stability
  • Develop a global partnership for development

The following links provide additional information regarding MDGs in general and in Kazakhstan.

Millennium Declaration
The text of the resolution adopted by the General Assembly at the Millennium Summit in September 2000.

United Nations Millennium Development Goals website
Provides background information and documents related to the MDGs.

United Nations Development Programme Millennium Development Goals website
UNDP in collaboration with national governments is coordinating country reporting on progress towards the UN Millennium Development Goals. This website provides comprehensive information regarding the MDGs and progress toward reaching these goals.

United Nations Development Programme Country page – MDGs in Kazakhstan
Provides information on the MDGs in Kazakhstan.

Millennium Development Goals Indicators
Maintained by the Statistics Division of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs, this website provides official data, definitions, methodologies and sources for the 48 indicators that measure progress towards the Millennium Development Goals.